Can’t See the Forest for the Trees

I was in a store the other day with my husband as we needed to buy a new television. We kept our old tube tv as long as we could, but it had just recently stopped working. I was looking at all the screens lined up on the wall. The same documentary was playing on all of them. I was listening to the couple standing next to me discussing with the sales assistant exactly what they were looking for in their entertainment set up.  They went on to talk about the picture quality of the various sets . The lady gestured toward the wall of screens, her heavily bangled arm jingling as she did so (I’m surprised she could even hold up her arm under the weight of all that gold!). She was complaining about how fuzzy all the screens looked and that she wasn’t happy with the stilted movement around the edges blah blah blah….

The ignorance of humanity. She didn’t even take any notice of what was actually playing on the 21 television screens in front of her.

Ganvie Lake Village

The documentary showed people going about their business in the lake village of Ganvie in Benin, West Africa. 3,000 stilted wooden shanties built on Lake Nokoue support a population of 40,000 people. That averages out to around 13 people living in each shack with no running water and no electricity.

Imaged used with permission from exclusive proprietor http://www.traveladventures.org

The people of Ganvie have little prospects except to try to eke out a living from the fish they catch in the polluted and depleted lake they live on.

Ganvie Market

The country of Benin has approximately 300,000 orphans.

We went home and gave that old television a bash and it started working. Maybe it will last us until next Christmas!

 

7 responses

  1. And yet many Queensland flood victims are still complaining they weren’t assisted quickly enough to return to their old lives.
    The new TVs– a combination of LCD and something else, use less power than the old ones, produce no dangerous radiation and are better on the eyes… so don’t feel guilty. get one.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by. Perception is an interesting thing. Some of the happiest, kindest people I have met have been the poorest. And some of the happiest moments of my life have been in the most humblest of abodes. It is not fair for so many people to struggle when others seem to have it all. But I assure you, money can also make people very very unhappy. They can lose sight of so much and become an empty shell. Eventually, nothing can make them happy.

    • Yep! I hope I never end up as blind as that woman. I am so grateful for what I have, and I by no means live a frugal existance. But I always give, as much as I can, as often as I can. Gotta have that balance.

Leave a Reply

